Haas Receives Recognition from National Women’s Organization

The National Foundation for Women Legislators (NFWL) recently announced State Representative Jackie Haas (R-Kankakee) as a 2022 Elected Women of Excellence Award winner.

This award was created to identify women who have worked tirelessly, often breaking down barriers and overcoming obstacles that once seemed insurmountable, to serve their communities. These pacesetters have engendered an environment where women can now serve in public office and fight for the issues, they are passionate about.

The 2022 Women of Excellence winners will be presented with an award during NFWL’s 2022 Annual Conference in Charleston, South Carolina.

The reception will bring together elected women conference attendees from across the country to recognize the accomplishments of Women of Excellence Award Winners.

“Part of the spirit of NFWL is that we take time to acknowledge the significant accomplishments of the hardworking and dedicated women around us, and we are delighted to recognize this year’s honorees,” shares NFWL Executive Director Jody Thomas.

Representative Haas is serving her first term in the Illinois House of Representatives, representing portions of Kankakee, Grundy and Will counties. As a lifelong Illinois resident, Haas has dedicated her life to public service not only through her work in the legislature, but also as a community social worker where she has helped underserved populations, and advocated for those who cannot speak for themselves for the last 30 years.

“I am completely honored to have been awarded this recognition among the great company of accomplished women leaders from across our nation,” said Rep. Haas. “Public service is incredibly rewarding work, and a large part of that has been the people I’ve met along the way including the female trailblazers before me.”

The winners were nominated by their colleagues and constituents from their home states, before being chosen by a distinguished panel of NFWL members.

“We congratulate our winners from this year and look forward to presenting them with their award in November,” Thomas concludes.